"Overcoming Challenges - A Bright Future"

Mayfly Award

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Mayfly-Award-winners-photo-All.jpg
A gathering of Mayfly Awardees and their sculptures in at the 2018 AMR Conference. Left to right (back row): Joe Pizarchik, Andy McAllister (Conference Co-Chair from WPCAMR), Tom Grote, John Dawes, Art Rose, Bob Hedin. (front row): Louise Dunlap, Margaret Dunn, Pam Milavec, Russ Wagner, Dave Mankameyer, Craig Morgan and Robert Hughes ( Conference Co-Chair from EPCAMR).
Mayfly Dun by Steve Kardos
Mayfly Award 2007 by Steve Kardos

The Pennsylvania Abandoned Mine Reclamation (AMR) Conference’s coveted “Mayfly Award” recognizes individuals who have dedicated a lifetime of knowledge and expertise to the reclamation of abandoned mines in Pennsylvania.  The mayfly was selected as the symbol for this award because its presence in a stream signifies clean water.

The tradition of giving out the “Mayfly Award” started with the 2007 Conference and the list of Awardees has grown to represent a group of distinguished individuals.

2007 – R. John Dawes
& Louise Dunlap

Mayfly Award 2013 by Michael Bestwick
Mayfly Award 2013 by Michael Bestwick

2008 – Margaret Dunn
& Russ Wagner

2009 – Dr. Robert S. Hedin, Ph. D.
& Dr. Arthur Rose

2010 – J. Scott Roberts

2011 – Dave Hess

2012 – Bernard J. McGurl
& Robert Eppley

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is Img-7413-857x1024.png
Mayfly Award 2019 by Mark Chuck

2013 – Bruce Leavitt

2014 – Pam Milavec

2015 – Art Grguric

2016 – Joe Pizarchik

2017 – Tom Grote
& Ed Wytovich

2018 – Craig Morgan
& Dave Mankameyer

2019 – Mark Killar
& Gary Merritt


Our current artist is:  Michael Bestwick